ADUG - TMS Web Core Study Group - Third Meeting

Hello Follks!

The next TMS Web Core study group meetin is on at

Thursday, 4th Novembber 2021 at 7:30 PM (AEDST) on Zoom.

Here are the meeting details:

CU there.

Salut,
Mathias

1 Like

Hi Mathias, since we’ve come out of lockdown and some sort of normal life has resumed, I can no longer do Thursdays. So I won’t be able to make it unfortunately.

Is there another weekday that suits you better?

Salut,
Mathias

Mondays and Wednesdays work, but I don’t expect everyone else to change.

I shall ask on Thursday & keep you informed

Salut,
Mathias

1 Like

Hello Malcolm,

we had our meeting tonight and we settled for the 1st & 4th Monday of the month. Therefore the next meeting will be on the 22nd November 2021 at 7:30 PM (AEDST).

Salut,
Mathias

1 Like

We had a good meeting yesterday looking at the way the Web Core works. I am coming to developing for the web as a complete novice and therefore there is a lot that is unclear to me. Some of what I am saying here will therefore be obvious to many if not most of you but I think it would be good to put down the observations nevertheless in case it is of use to anyone else.

Variants
TMS Web Core essentially allows two different types of apps to be created :-

1. A web application which is meant to be run in the browser.
  2. A stand alone app (using TMS Miletus) which can be run on either Windows, Linux or the Mac. This produces a relatively large EXE (or equivalent for the platform) which contains your code as well as a JavaScript engine to actually run the code.

In both cases Web Core translates your Pascal code into JavaScript. The essential difference being that in one case the JavaScript engine is in your browser and the other it is embedded in your app.

Miletus App