VCL Project Maintainability

I am a hobbyist using Delphi for a Membership DB
I understand it is useful to keep the user interface form separate from the datamodule. Over the recent years I have learnt to use DataSnap, REST, Frames and Classes. I have very little source code in classes.

Should I try to increase source code in classes?
Would it make the source code more maintainable?

I bought a book on breaking code into logical parts but it was too detailed and complicated for my liking. I also have experimented with dUnit testing but do not use it.

What was the book Erick ?

Robert

MVVM by John Kouraklis. Sounded good in theory. I don’t even have it anymore.

I have adopted a MVVM light architecture for my code. By light I mean that I haven’t implemented events for communicating between the different parts of the system.

Basically I use

• View is generally a frame, which has no business knowledge
  • View model may contain data base access routines directly, or may use callbacks to get database information from another unit. This might be lists of values for combo boxes or actual data operations
  • Model contains the data and some business knowledge

These are used by a main form which is generally has a database object and responds to view, save, delete buttons. It manually sets data in the model and then calls the view to refresh.

It probably isn’t a standard way of doing things but it suits the application I have been writing.

My initial inspiration was a blog of @Malcolm . I think it might be his Menial Tasks project on github.

1 Like

For me there’s a lot to like about approaches like MVVM, MVC, MVP, etc, but sometimes you can get stuck on the purity and lose sight of getting something built.

Sue’s approach sounds very sensible to me. Without putting words in her mouth, to me it says: take the concepts from it that give some of the benefits you want (maintainability, testability, etc), but stay pragmatic to avoid throwing away the benefits of RAD.